10 Followers
30 Following
pamelaokramer

pamelaokramer

Memory Boy - Will Weaver Memory Boy by Will Weaver is the perfect book for any lover of survival stories. Readers who enjoyed Paulsen's Hatchet, Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick or Ashfall by Mike Mullin will fall under the spell of Miles Newell as he leads his family on a journey fraught with danger.

It's two years after a volcanic eruption, and Miles realizes that his family needs to leave their seemingly safe Minneapolis suburb and go to their cabin in the northwoods. It's there that he feels they will be safe and able to live.

Miles is a great protagonist. By his own admission a lackluster student, it's his amazing memory that gets him through, and it's that same memory that leads Miles and his family to safety.
Memory Boy by Will Weaver is the perfect book for any lover of survival stories. Readers who enjoyed Paulsen's Hatchet, Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick or Ashfall by Mike Mullin will fall under the spell of Miles Newell as he leads his family on a journey fraught with danger.

It's two years after a volcanic eruption, and Miles realizes that his family needs to leave their seemingly safe Minneapolis suburb and go to their cabin in the northwoods. It's there that he feels they will be safe and able to live.

Miles is a great protagonist. By his own admission a lackluster student, it's his amazing memory that gets him through, and it's that same memory that leads Miles and his family to safety.
Advertisement

It's also lucky that Miles' hobby is fixing things, so he's quite a handy guy to have around. For his ninth grade oral history project, he was paired with a taciturn old man who, by dropping bits and pieces of his own personal history, taught Miles how to live off the land.

He was a man who lived off the grid. He had built himself a cabin on federal land, and there he stayed for decades -- not bothering anyone, no one bothering him. It was his family who betrayed him and stuck him in a nursing home when he came for his sister's funeral.

Miles listened to his stories with one ear while he spent time repairing skateboards, a lucrative hobby. Little did he realize that the old man's stories would one day keep him and his family alive.

Read the whole review at: http://www.examiner.com/young-adult-fiction-in-chicago/memory-boy-by-will-weaver-review